Loading Events
This event has passed.
This concert is performed in honor of the PSO’s longtime Director of Audience Engagement, Doug Kinzey, who retired from the Symphony last year. Thank you to the many sponsors, and friends of Doug, who helped make this concert possible:
Alice and Bill Hobbs
Carolyn and John Huggins
Valerie and Hal Kauffeldt
Carol and Joe Layne
Darlene Morford
Pat and Bruce Morrice
Sandy Nachman
Janie and David Orr
Wanda and Cliff Parker
Drs. Pat Storck and Chris Parr
Carol and William Tempest

Richard Strauss was only 25 years old when he composed his ambitious tone poem. The enormous work depicts death and what may lie after death. The work was not written for a particular person though on his deathbed, Strauss commented dying was like he composed it sixty years earlier.

The 2021/22 Season concludes with Rachmaninoff’s lush piano concerto. The piece premiered in New York City with the composer as soloist. This work often has the reputation of being one of the most technically challenging piano concertos in the standard piano repertory.

Daniel Hsu won the Bronze Medal at the 2017 Van Cliburn International Piano Competition. His solo recital during that competition featured the enormously challenging original version of Pictures at an Exhibition, which was written for solo piano by Mussorgsky.

Share this with your friends!

Go to Top